you don't capture the light, the light captures you.

!Squirrel!

When I put pics into my imaging software and see the RGB metrics, I have absolutely no idea what they are telling me. I just tinker around until I think the natural colors have been brought out to their fullest (I notice patterns, such as a connection between brightness and contrast, hue and saturation, etc, but I do not know how they are related). I’m looking forward to understanding these concepts better as time goes on.

However, I have noticed that when the three colors are more uniform (i.e. there are no major spikes of one color or the other), the image is MUCH friendlier to deal with in post. This is the case with this photo. The RGB colors were practically symmetrical (can someone tell me why that is?), and when I went to bring out the natural highlights in the image, it happened without any pain and suffering — giving the !squirrel! that fresh-from-the-salon look.

Squirrel make-over reality TV show anyone?

Leave a comment